New Trailer: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

by clementinepumpernickel

Bah humbug. I’m just not feeling this, at all. Granted, I wasn’t a huge fan of the first three movies, which I guess I enjoyed, although I didn’t take them to be the holy grail of fantasy movies, or a ‘Star Wars’ for the naughties generation. But this feels… small. The set design feels small, the dwarf make-up looks ropey, and some of the digital mattes look even more like Bob Ross paintings than those in the original Lord of the Rings (I think specifically of Galadriel and Gandalf standing in front of a Bob Ross landscape.). I was looking forward to Del Toro’s take on this material, but I’m hardly seeing any of his magic in this trailer (if memory serves, some of his design work was still to be used for this). Still, it is early days, and I know I’ll be in the minority on this one. Role on next Christmas, so I can be all grinchy when this gets released.

According to Hero Complex, Maurice Sendak (of Where The Wild Things Are fame), almost drew an illustrated version of The Hobbit:

I wonder if Peter Jackson’s two part opus will live up to The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins, as sung by Leonard Nimoy?

