New Avengers and John Carter

by clementinepumpernickel

Uh, why does Cap's suit have stuck-on ears?

The only real gripe I have about The Avengers thus far is that Captain America’s costume looks like it was built by a bunch of wannabe cosplayers, and not the amazingly talented group of people that regularly show up at conventions in jaw-dropping fan-made regalia, but the rookies biting off more than they can chew for their freshman efforts. In fact, I’d almost go as far as to say that I prefer the PVC effort worn by Matt Salinger in Albert Pyun’s gloriously dreadful Captain America monstrosity from the early ’90s (see above).

But still, given how geeky and nit-picky I am, if this is the only complaint I can muster, then Joss Whedon and his motley crew are doing a hell of a lot of things right. My only real concern at this point is that the movie is anything less than amazing, and as I watched this trailer, I found myself whispering under my breath “please don’t fuck it up, please don’t fuck it up”:

If I were a gambling man, I would bet on the following two propositions concerning John Carter. 1) This film will tank at the box office. 2) This film will be great. I’m still not overly fond of the meathead hunk o’ manlove that they have playing John Carter, but every new trailer for this film has sold me on it more, and I trust the creative team implicitly. This could be this year’s Scott Pilgrim (oh, a word of warning — I’d watch this video on mute, as the voice-over grates):

Finally, the last two posters for this film have been great:

 

