Graeme’s Top Ten Comicbook Artists, And FUCK YOU If You Don’t Agree

by clementinepumpernickel

It’s been over a year since Comic Book Resources published their 125 best comic book artists, as voted for by the readers of the site. After chatting with my friends Gav and Graeme about our respective selections I realized that we had voted for quite different artists, both from each other and from the eventual winners of the vote. I’ve given you my top ten writers and artists, and Gav has also written about his own top ten artists.

From here, we’ll pass the ball over to my friend Graeme McNee ~ minimalist indie-creator extraordinaire~ who originally provided with me with a very eloquent article talking about his choices (which I was itching to post), although he decided to pare it back to just one sentence for each artist, in keeping with his creative ethos. You can visit his sites here, and here. Just because he can, Graeme has re-defined the sign “ten” to actually signify twelve choices.

First off, here is CBR’s top ten:

10 Alex Ross
9 John Romita Jr
8 Frank Miller
7 John Byrne
6 Jim Lee
5 Neal Adams
4 George Perez
3 J H Williams III
2 Frank Quitely
1 Jack Kirby

Okay Graeme, over to you:

Top 10 Comic Artists, by Graeme McNee

Coming from the indie side of the comics world, my top ten is a little different from previous entries in this series. Some of the artists on this list may not be the greatest artists in a technical sense, but they are the creators whose work I have come back to time and time again for inspiration and teaching. Without any of the following, my own art might not be what it is today.

1. Moebius, who taught me how to draw freehand and make it up as I go along.

2.Winsor McCay, who taught me how to continuously work at improving my skill.

3. Herge, who taught me how to plot narrative in both a full-length story and a single frame.

4. Jaime Hernandez, who taught me how to make things interesting by changing camera angles and using shadows.

5. Katsuhiro Otomo and his team of 20 Assistants, who taught me how to ground even the most epic stories on the most intimate emotions.

6. Tove Jansson, who taught me how to unlock my imagination and entertain. 

7. John Porcellino, who taught me how to capture the truth of my own experience.

8. Dave Sim and Gerhard, who taught me how to use every element of the page as a narrative device.

 

9. Dash Shaw, who taught me how to take complex ideas and experiment and simplify.

10. Dame D’arcy, who taught me how to make my mistakes part of the aesthetic.

11. Jason, who taught me how to use restrictions to increase my creativity.

12. Bill Watterson, who taught me the best work aims to please an audience of one, not one million.

